Stay Woke America. Slavery still exist today!

Have you seen the New Netflix Original documentary, “13th?”

Check out the Food For Thought at the bottom.

This documentary left me DISTURBED, DISGUSTED, & FURIOUS with America’s justice system. I don’t remember the last movie that made me cry… but this BROUGHT TEARS TO MY EYES.

And let me make this clear… to me it’s not about RACE… it’s about injustice. I have friends of all nationalities and backgrounds and it would pain me to see anyone or any race in this situation. I think what bothered and hurt me the most was I really wished that there was something that I could do about this horrible issue right now but because the lawmakers make the laws… Where would I begin?

The documentary was named 13th after the 13th amendment, which states “Neither slavery nor involuntary servitude, except as a punishment for crime whereof the party shall have been duly convicted, shall exist within the United States, or any place subject to their jurisdiction.”

See the clause ========> Except.

So America gets this bright IDEA… we can make money off of the prison system. (Slavery all over again).

Okay… I know this random thought runs through your mind, they wouldn’t create laws to put innocent people behind bars… would they?

Of course they would and I’m not just talking about Jim Crow Laws… it’s happening today.

It’s easy to see how someone could be from America but not have American Citizen Rights. #novote.

I won’t spoil it for anyone but what I will say is… my heart goes to the millions of people living in the jail system. And what’s worst… NO ONE SEEMS TO CARE. 

2-7-2017-3-46-46-pm

 

Food for Thought: 25% the world incarceration is in the United States of America but the United States only makes up 6.5% of the world’s population.

Let’s SPEAK up and make things RIGHT.

Until next time, Be Blessed and Keep Being a Blessing.

-Savvy.

 

One thought on “Stay Woke America. Slavery still exist today!

Leave a Reply

